Hunting… good photos

campsite by cache creek

campsite by cache creek

This photo of our campsite at Cache Creek (see blaze orange for location) is about the best thing I “caught” during our recent trip to hunt and camp. We went two weeks before to the same spot to hunt… and got some good views of the “hunter’s moon” (full moon):

hunter's moon

hunter’s moon

Apparently, stillhunting with bow and arrow and pistol pellet gun is not so easy. I stalked up a few rabbits, some quail, pheasants (I think), and a large grey squirrel. But they all were wary and escaped. I had a good shot at the squirrel (which came right up to a tree by the campsite while I was cooking breakfast), but it escaped when I set down my bow to take better aim with my pistol. You win this time, my furry and feathered friends. I’ll have to keep eating these farm (/animal prison)-produced animals for now. One day I’ll get your pelts for making gear. I was really hoping for a turkey, but they just made a turkey out of me, since all I got from days of scrambling through brush was a single turkey feather. Got my first hawk feather though. Also found some bobcat claw marks on manzanita, as well as some late-blooming manzanita berries:

bobcat claw marks on manzanita trunk

bobcat claw marks on manzanita trunk

manzanita berries

manzanita berries

here are some more photos I took during our not-exactly-failed trip:

breakfast that seemingly attracted the squirrel

breakfast that seemingly attracted the squirrel

Oyster mushrooms (too old and tough to eat)

Oyster mushrooms (too old and tough to eat)

caught a great blue heron taking off over cache creek

caught a great blue heron taking off over cache creek

nice fall colors from the valley oak and digger pines (black cottonwoods and willows in the middle)

nice fall colors from the valley oak and digger pines (black cottonwoods and willows in the middle)

Leave a Reply

